Gemstone Guide and Essays


Guides and essays for gemstone collectors





elcome to our Gemstone Guide

This is where you will find well written essays and articles related to the gemstone industry. Topics include the blue Tanzanite, Red Spinel as well as the neon colored Paraiba Tourmaline gemstone.

The Guide

Welcome to Gemstone Guide and Essays, your definitive resource on the world's gemstones. On this site you will find buying guides intended to help novice and frequent buyers on the fine art of buying jewelry. Our information is updated monthly to reflect current trends in the gemstone market place.

Our guides are excellent yet simple tools for a quick appraisal of your favored gemstones.

Gemstones Defined

Gemstones are classified into “precious” gemstones and “semi-precious” gemstones. The American Geological Institute defines a precious gem as a gemstone that has the highest commercial value. A gemstone commands a price based on its beauty, hardness, rarity, and durability. Gemstones classified under the “precious” category include diamond, sapphire, ruby, emerald, and most recently, the Paraiba tourmaline. Jewelry dealers, and other sectors within the jewelry industry, hold such gemstones in high esteem.

A semi-precious gemstone, on the other hand, has a more specific definition. The Institute defines it as:

"Any gemstones other than a precious stone, or any gemstone of lower commercial value than a precious stone; specifically, a mineral that is less than 8 on the Mohs scale of hardness.”

A gemstone, no matter how gorgeous looking it is, may still be classified as semi-precious if it is relatively more abundant than the other gemstones, is inferior in brilliance, or is simply not known to the public.

The New Class of Precious

In previous years, there were clear boundaries between precious and semi-precious gemstones. Diamonds, rubies, emeralds, and sapphires were classified as “precious” as all the other gemstones were fell a notch below them. In recent years, some gemstones have cut the grade from “semi-precious” to “precious” gemstones.

There’s a new criteria too for pricing gemstones. From beauty, hardness, rarity, and durability, gemstones are now priced based on their beauty, rarity, durability, and desirability. These are the new markers for classifying gemstones.